LAUNCH DAY! IT’S LAUNCH DAY!

I kind of can’t believe we’re finally here, but today the students have officially launched their first installments of #TheStoryProject! YAY!

I know, I know – I’ve been MIA for awhile. (Mental note: add “update blog more regularly” to my “What I need to work on” list.) We had Spring Break, and then when we returned there was PARCC testing, and we’ve been reading Wicked, and talking about Serial, and then, all of a sudden, it was LAUNCH DAY! This time of year goes so fast.

Next week I turn the blog over to our storytellers, and they’re more than ready to take on the challenge; I truly cannot wait for you to meet these wonderful young people.

So let’s build a little suspense, shall we? Here’s a preview of who you’ll be hearing from next Wednesday and Friday:

Susie & HyeYoon – on Instagram as @a_sunz_story:

sunzThis is the most lovable pair of best friends ever. Susie & HyeYoon will be telling the story of their friendship and how they found one another, while at the same time challenging stereotypes about Koreans, Korean-Americans, and Asians more broadly.Friendship AND advocacy? It’s a beautiful thing!

Their 4-part series has a really lovely visual theme to it, too – see if you can guess at what it is, starting with this photo!

 

Mike, Evan & Phillip – on YouTube @ Lizard Wizard Racing Championship

I’m going to be completely forthcoming about this one and say this: I’m not entirely sure what these guys are planning. Here’s what I know: there are lizards (one named Cricket), they will be racing, and their tails may or may not fall off. Another thing I know is that Mike, Evan & Phillip are going to have a fascinating story because they’re fascinating guys. (Note: no lizards were harmed in the making of these videos. Also, they’re being loved and cared for.)

Lauren, Dania & Hayden – on Twitter AND Instagram @PShelterStories

shelter storiesHere’s another one that’s really close to my heart – Lauren, Dania & Hayden are working to bring attention to animals in local shelters in the hopes of increasing pet adoptions. No group so far has worked harder at making contacts for their story. Surprisingly, it’s been pretty tough for them to get access to shelters and rescues to photograph animals to feature – perhaps it’s because they’re kids and no one is taking them seriously enough, or maybe it’s just indicative of the larger animal homeless problem that we have (my bleeding heart is showing through, I think). In either case, I so admire their tenacity; they’ve been on the phone, scouring the Internet, and I think they’re poised for a breakthrough. Maybe by sharing their work here, we’ll find some people willing to help them, and the animals, out.

Well, there they are! They’ve been doing their part to get the ball rolling, and in writing this I’m hoping to do my part in building their online profiles, so please, PLEASE check them out. They’ve impressed me tremendously, and I know they’re going to impress you as well.

Until next time,

Mrs. K

 

Leave a comment